My beef with TV.

Maybe this is just me, but I think TV is basically an opportunity for the viewer to judge another person without any chance of repercussion.
You know the kind of shows I’m talking about. Clean Sweep, Wife Swap, House Hunters, CSI, Law and Order…
On and on the list can go of shows that are essentially exaggerations of reality, and they give us a chance to judge without being judged.
I wonder what would happen if instead of sitting down for an evening of TV, we sat down for an evening of introspection. An evening of judging ourselves to see where we can become a better person.
I know that personally, when I sit down and watch TV, I usually walk away with an attitude of being superior to those that were put on display on whatever show I was watching.
But if instead of watching TV, I sit down and consider who I am and think about what I’ve done that day, I leave that experience, usually, with an idea of what I can do that might move me towards being a better person.

2 Responses to My beef with TV.

  1. Cindy says:

    It is amazing the sutle power that TV has on our lives. It’s easy to get sucked in to just sitting mindlessly watching. We all need to Just turn it off or be selective about what shows to watch. (Of course, LOST, is a must watch!)

  2. Leah says:

    aw dangit. you got me. i’ll be fixing that…

Leave a Reply

